Victorian Surfers Battle it out to Claim a Spot to Compete Amongst the World’s Top Surfers in the Rip Curl Pro Trials

Published on 06/04/2022

The best of Victorian surfers will be battling it out this Thursday the 7th of April at Bells Beach to claim a spot to compete amongst the world’s top surfers in the Rip Curl Pro Trials.

The event will feature 16 of the top Victorian Male surfers and the top 16 Female surfers who will also compete against four Rip Curl wildcards to attain the exclusive spot in the main event.

“The Rip Curl Pro Trials is the top event that Victorian surfers strive to compete in,” said Surfing Victoria CEO Adam Robertson.

“It gives a unique opportunity for Victorian surfers to compete against the world’s best in the Rip Curl Pro. This can give them a special insight into the world tour and a possible future amongst the world’s best.”

A few of the surfers invited to compete in the event includes 2022 Mens Victorian Open Champion and current World Qualifying Series athlete surfer Xavier Huxtable (Jan Juc), Harry De Roth (Phillip Island), Bohdie Williams (Point Lonsdale), alongside 2022 Womens Victorian Open Champion Sophie Fletcher (Phillip Island), Bella Wilson (Jan Juc), Sarsha Pancic (Blairgowrie) and former World Tour Competitor Nikki van Dijk (Phillip Island).

Results from the World Qualifying Series Ranking (2022), Pro Junior Ranking (2021) and Victorian Open Series results (2022) determined the selection of surfers in the event.

The Rip Curl Pro Trials will be held on Thursday 7th April at Bells Beach on the Surf Coast. Heats will begin at 7.30am.

The Rip Curl Pro waiting period begins Sunday 10th April and concludes Thursday 20th April at Bells Beach.

Trials Live scores can be found via and further information on the Rip Curl Pro can be found via

The Rip Curl Pro Trials is presented by Visit Victoria and supported by the World Surf League, Rip Curl and Surfing Victoria.

Trials List:
Alyssa Spencer (Rip Curl)
Amuro Tsuzuki (Rip Curl)
Kobie Enright (Rip Curl)
Ellie Harrison (Rip Curl)
Nikki van Dijk (Phillip Island)
Sage Goldsbury (Phillip Island)
Bella Wilson (Jan Juc)
Sophie Fletcher (Phillip Island)
Anglea Ball (Jan Juc)
Emily McGettigan (Torquay)
Ava Holland (Mornington Peninsula)
Ruby Armstrong (Mornington Peninsula)
Sophie Wilkinson (Mornington Peninsula)
Sarsha Pancic (Mornington Peninsula)
Minnie Vorrath (Pt Lonsdale)
Sara Hickson (Mornington Peninsula)
Sarah Seuren (Inverloch)
Linley Hurrell (Torquay)
Lizzy Madeley (Bellbrae)
Belle Day (Aireys Inlet)

Tully Wylie (Jan Juc)
Xavier Huxtable (Jan Juc)
Bohdie Williams (Pt Lonsdale)
Harry De Roth (Phillip Island)
Willis Droomer (Jan Juc)
Ethan Huxtable (Jan Juc)
Isaiah Norling (Barwon Heads)
Jay Phipps (Pt Lonsdale)
Lewy Oates (Jan Juc)
Luke Lalor (Torquay)
Anthony Hume (Torquay)
Harrison Garlick (Foster)
Willem Watson (Mornington Peninsula)
Brendon Davis (Melbourne)
Wild Card 1
Wild Card 2

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses


Other News