Victorian 2020 State Surfing Titles Awarded

Published on 23/11/2020

Surfing Victoria would like to recognise all surfers who have been awarded state titles in 2020.

In a shortened season due to the COVID 19 Pandemic, the Junior & Open Shortboard series’ were able to complete 2 events, whilst the Longboard series ran only one single event that was cut short due to extreme weather. 

Due to the inability to complete a full round of the Longboard Titles no State Longboard Champions will be crowned in 2020.

The Victorian Bodyboard Titles (managed by the Mornington Peninsula Bodyboard Club) also had a shortened season due to the pandemic and was able to complete two events prior to the lockdown.

Unfortunately the Victorian Kneeboard Titles (managed by Kneeboard Surfing Victoria) was unable to crown state champions in 2020 due to the pandemic. Surfing Victoria would like to congratulate Paul O’Neil (Fish Creek), Noah Bateup (Torquay) & Owen Fairweather (Rye) who were all crowned World Champions at the World Kneeboard Championships in February at Dunedin, NZ.

The Victorian SUP Titles was also unable to be run in 2020 due to the lockdowns in Victoria.

“On behalf of Surfing Victoria, I would like to congratulate all state champions in 2020” said Surfing Victoria CEO Adam Robertson.

“It was one of the most challenging years on record and we look forward to having a more normal 2021!”

2020 Victorian State Titles

Victorian Open Series
Open Women

1st Sophie Fletcher (Phillip Island)
2nd Mia Huppatz (Jan Juc)

Open Men
1st  Todd Rosewall (Jan Juc)
2nd Harry de Roth (Phillip Island)

Woolworths Victorian Junior Surfing Titles
U18 Girls

1st Lucy Naylor (Pt Lonsdale)
2nd Poppy Corbett (Phillip Island)

U18 Boys
1st Charlie Farrer (Barwon Heads)
2nd Codie Jeffery (Phillip Island)

U16 Girls
1st Mia Huppatz (Jan Juc)
2nd Sarsha Pancic (Blairgowrie)

U16 Boys
1st Willis Droomer (Jan Juc)
2nd Lucas Hickson (Rye)

U14 Girls
=1st Isla Huppatz (Jan Juc)
=1st Sara Hickson (Rye)

U14 Boys
1st Jay Phipps (Point Lonsdale)
2nd Harry Farrer (Barwon Heads)

Mornington Peninsula Bodyboard Club 2020 Victorian State Titles

1st River Gray (4000 points)
2nd Jack Draper (3440 points)

1st Ned Johnstone (4000 points)
2nd Xander Harbour (3180 points)

1st Michael Castaldini (3110 points)
2nd Justin Fitzpatrick (2000 points)

1st Ned Johnstone (3460 points)
2nd Mark Britten (2720 points)

1st Sally Wells (3720 points)
2nd Melissa Fitzpatrick (2000 points)

1st Chris Watson (3720 points)
2nd Dan Redfern (3060 points)

1st Steve Hartshorne (4000 points)
2nd Guy Drerup (3180 points)

1st Shane Britten (3460 points)
2nd Steve Hartshorne (3060 points)

Full bodyboard results can be found on

The full 2021 Event Schedule will be released in the coming weeks.

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses


Other News

Surf Her Way Photographer – Zoe Strapp

Surf Her Way Photographer – Zoe Strapp

Welcome to our Surf Her Way Photographer for April - Zoe Strapp. Now based on the Surf Coast of Victoria, she is has fuelled her passion for the ocean and surf photography by transversing across our beautiful country's...

read more