Surfing Victoria announce State Team for Woolworths Australian Junior Surfing Titles

Published on 16/10/2023

Surfing Victoria is proud to announce the 2023 Victorian Junior Surfing Team presented by Surf Better Now that is set to head to the Woolworths Australian Junior Surfing Titles at Phillip Island this November.

Held on Phillip Island in 2023, the 7 day event will feature over 180 competitors from across the country.

30 of Victoria’s best and brightest surf stars will compete with surfers to watch including current third place on the National Rankings Willem Watson (McRae), Victorian State Champions Sarsha Pancic (Blairgowrie), Jerry Kelly (Barwon Heads), Sara Hickson (Rye), Arch Rayner (Inverloch) and Rose Holland (Dromana)

“Its always special to have the Australian Junior Surfing Titles on home soil in Victoria” said Surfing Victoria High Performance Coaching Director Cahill Bell-Warren

“We have one of the most geographically diverse teams in recent memory with an even spread across the coastline showing the depth of talent in Victoria at the moment.”

“Last time we had the event at home in Victoria we not only scored great waves but had on the most successful years ever and took home 3 individual Australian Titles. This squad is well prepared through the they have done with the Surf Better Now coaching team, the stage is set for the Vic Mafia to show off their skillset on home turf.”

The Opening Ceremony will be held on at the Phillip Island Penguin Parade on Saturday November 25th with surfing to begin on Saturday November 26th. The event will be completed on Sunday December 3rd.

Surfers will compete in individual divisions including Under 14, 16 and 18 age groups along with Allstars and MR Shield Schools divisions.

Phillip Island is home to a host of world class waves with primary location for the event to be Cape Woolamai. Backup locations across the region include Penguin Parade, Smiths Beach, Right Point and Surfies Point.

Full coverage of the Woolworths Australian Junior Surfing Titles can be found by following Surfing Victoria’s Instagram page @surfingvictoria and @surfbetternow.

More information on the event can be found at

The Victorian Junior Surfing Team is presented by Surf Better Now and supported by Surfing Victoria

Full Team List:


Willem Watson – McRae

Lucas Hickson – Rye

Isaiah Norling – Barwon Heads

Jack Bassett – Barwon Heads

Remy Roberts – Barwon Heads


Sarsha Pancic – Blairgowrie

Eva Bassed – Sandy Point

Mia Holland – Dromana

Sophie Thompson – Shoreham

Juliet Muscroft – Jan Juc


Jerry Kelly – Barwon Heads

Rye Cicero – Sandy Point

Remy Filer – Jan Juc

Oscar Kerr – Ocean Grove

Jack Lindsay – Jan Juc


Sara Hickson – Rye

Ava Holland – Dromana

Sophie Wilkinson – Shoreham

Dune Pruvot – Torquay

Lillian Bassed – Sandy Point


Arch Rayner – Inverloch

Dusty Rayner – Inverloch

Harlem Pec – Jan Juc

Angus Kennedy – Cowes

Charlie Chisholm – Torquay


Rose Holland – Dromana

Scarlett Rennie – Cape Woolamai

Chloe Muscroft – Jan Juc

Evie Lutz – Cowes

Anise Pruvot – Torquay

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses


Other News