Surfing Australia announces exciting changes to the Australian Surfing Awards as nominations open
Published on 22/12/2023

CASUARINA, NSW (December 21st, 2023): Surfing Australia is thrilled to announce the commencement of nominations for the Australian Surfing Awards incorporating the Hall of Fame. This year, we’re ushering in a wave of exciting changes to this prestigious event, including the addition of new awards.

A total of 19 awards will be presented to both individuals and groups who have made significant and enduring contributions to the development of surfing in Australia.

One of the most notable changes is to the Rising Star Award, which will pay tribute to the legacies of two of Australia’s greatest World Champion surfers. These awards are aimed at fostering the development of Australia’s junior surfing rising stars. The Stephanie Gilmore Female Rising Star Award presented by Griffith University will acknowledge the Australian junior female surfer (under 18) whose surfing performance in the past year, along with her upstanding character, shows the most rising star qualities. Similarly, the Mick Fanning Male Rising Star Award presented by Griffith University will recognise the Australian junior male surfer (under 18) whose surfing performance in the past year, along with his upstanding character, shows the most rising star qualities.

Mick Fanning said: “Surfing Australia has always provided a strong pathway for young surfers aspiring to achieve greatness in surfing. It will be a real honour to present this award to an individual elevating themselves and lifting the level and potential of Aussie surfing each year.”

Furthermore, we are excited to introduce the Emerging Surf Brand Award, which will recognise an emerging surf brand that encapsulates Australian surfing culture today and gives back to the Australian surfing community. Surf Film of the Year – Filmer Award will be presented to the creator of the best feature-length surf video or film made by an Australian in 2023. While the Surf Clip of the Year Award – Surfer Athlete will recognise the most dynamic Australian surf clip edit of the year for 2023 (under 15 minutes).

Your voice matters in determining the deserving recipients of these coveted titles, so we encourage you to submit your nominations now. You also have the opportunity to enter your photos or videos through our online form.

The event will also include the induction of an outstanding athlete into Surfing Australia’s Hall of Fame. Last year, Taj Burrow was added to the prestigious list, alongside other world-class athletes such as Joel Parkinson, Stephanie Gilmore, Julian Wilson, Owen Wright, Mick Fanning, Mark Occhilupo and Sally Fitzgibbons. Click HERE for all previous winners.

More details on this exciting new format for the Australian Surfing Awards will be announced in January including dates and venue.

Surfing Australia Chief of Sport, Luke Madden said: “We’re excited to add new awards to this event and have Mick Fanning. and Stephanie Gilmore on board again supporting surfing’s junior talent. We can’t wait to see Australia’s best surfers, surf schools and clubs as well as community groups, businesses and creators showcase their outstanding work over the past year and being rewarded for their efforts.”

The 19 award categories are:
Male Surfer of the Year
Female Surfer of the Year
Mick Fanning Male Rising Star Award (Under 18) presented by Griffith University
Stephanie Gilmore Female Rising Star Award (Under 18) presented by Griffith University
Male Para Surfer of the Year
Female Para Surfer of the Year
Heavy Water Award
Greater Good Award
Peter Troy Lifetime Achievement Award
Coach of the Year Award
Surf School of the Year Award
Innovation Award presented by ACCIONA
Surf Culture Award presented by Jim Beam
Simon Anderson Club Award
Indigenous Surfing – Community Celebration Award
Surf Film of the Year – Filmer Award
Surf Clip of the Year – Surfer Award (under 15 minutes)
Surf Photo of the Year*
Emerging Surf Brand Award
Australian Surfing Hall of Fame Inductee
*new criteria, must be an Australian surf photographer and taken in Australia

Event website, categories and nominations HERE.

The Australian Surfing Awards are proudly sponsored by Griffith University, Jim Beam, Le Tan and Small Things Wine.

About the Australian Surfing Awards nominations:
The 2024 Australian Surfing Awards are open to Australian citizens, and cover the period between 1st January 2023 and 31st December 2023. Click on the link HERE to see all categories and for your chance to nominate Australian surfers across each award category. Please enter names against each award you would like to nominate.

Nominations are open from 21st December 2023 and will close on the 31st of January 2024. 

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses


You may also like….