Rip Curl GromSearch Finalists confirmed ahead of National Final at URBNSURF next week

Published on 12/03/2021

72 of the finest junior surfers from around the country are set to descend on Australia’s first ever surf park, URBNSURF Melbourne, to battle it out for the title of GromSearch National Champion next week. 54 Qualifying athletes from the Rip Curl GromSearch series will be joined by 18 wildcards.

“We are stoked to be welcoming some of the best junior surfers from around the country to Victoria,” said Surfing Victoria CEO Adam Robertson. “There is some incredible talent in the field and no doubt many of these surfers will go on to be World Tour athletes in the years to come.”

Former Rip Curl GromSearch National champion and current Australasia WSL Qualifying Series leader Molly Picklum (Central Coast, NSW) will be joining the groms at the event.

“I can’t wait to come and check out the groms ripping in the pool,” said Picklum. “The Rip Curl GromSearch series is so much fun. It was the comp I most looked forward to when I was younger.”

The event format will see all competitors get 4 waves in qualifying (2 Lefts and 2 Rights) where the top left and right wave will count to their total. The top 4 surfers from this opening round will go through to the Final where surfers will get 8 total waves (2x Left Turns, 2x Left Tube, 2x Right Turn, 2x Right Tube). Champions will be decided based off surfers best Left Turn, Left Tube, Right Turn and Right Tube.

National Final Event Qualifiers:

16 & Under Girls
Emily McGettigan (Torquay, VIC)
Ellie Harrison (Barwon Heads, VIC)
Mia Huppatz (Jan Juc, VIC)
Milli Allport (Central Coast, NSW)
Cedar Leigh-Jones (Avalon, NSW)
Lilliana Bowrey (Noosa, QLD)
Coco Cairns (Noosa, QLD)
Charlotte Mulley (Miami, QLD)

Bonnie Hills (Coffs Harbour, NSW)
Poppy Corbet (Phillip Island, Vic)
Charlize Everitt (Boomerang, NSW)
Holly Wishart (Gerringong, NSW)

16 & Under Boys
Ethan Huxtable (Jan Juc, VIC)
Asher Lens (Jan Juc, VIC)
Winter Vincent (Queenscliff, NSW)
Lennix Smith (Barrack Point, NSW)
Taj Simon (Port Kembla, NSW)
Marlon Harrison (Coolangatta, QLD)
Tim Bain (Noosa, QLD)
Matt Boyle (Coolangatta, QLD)

Toby Lawrence (TAS)
Dom Thomas (Newcastle, NSW)
Joel Kerr (Torquay, VIC)
Koda Killorn (Maroubra, NSW)

14 & Under Girls
Isla Huppatz (Jan Juc, VIC)
Sarsha Pancic (Blairgowrie, VIC)
Sonia Seuren (Inverloch, VIC)
Mila Brown (Newport, NSW)
Zahlia Short (Wollongong, NSW)
Shyla Short (Wollongong, NSW)
Jahly Stokes (Buddina, QLD)
Jordy Halford (Currumbin, QLD)
Riley Du Preez (Currumbin, QLD)

Willow Hardy (Gnarabup, NSW)
Leila Salt (Boomerang Beach, NSW)
Bohdie Simon (Port Kembla, NSW)

14 & Under Boys
Willis Droomer (Jan Juc, VIC)
Lucas Hickson (Rye, VIC)
Jack Bassett (Barwon Heads, VIC)
Fletcher Kelleher (North Steyne, NSW)
Harry O’Brien (Lennox Head, NSW)
Eden Hasson (Boat Harbour, NSW)
Rico Haybittle (Burleigh Heads, QLD)
Landen Smales (Noosa, QLD)
Tom Whitpaine (Burleigh Heads, QLD)

Dane Henry (Fingal, NSW)
Harley Walters (Angourie, NSW)
Ashton Pignat (Coolum, QLD)

12 & Under Girls
Sophie Wilkinson (Rye, VIC)
Sara Hickson (Rye, VIC)
Maeve Wilkinson (Inverloch, VIC)
Quincy Symonds (Yamba, NSW)
Oceana Curtis (Lennox Head, NSW)
Ruby Trew (Curl Curl, NSW)
Stella Green (Buddina, QLD)
Oli Taylor (Peregian Beach, QLD)
Mila Du Preez (Currumbin, QLD)

Maia Tate (South Australia)
Lani Cairncross (Kiama, NSW)
Olive Hardy (Margaret River, WA)

12 & Under Boys
Remy Filer (Jan Juc, VIC)
Jerry Kelly (Barwon Heads, VIC)
Taj McPhee (Torquay, VIC)
Ben Zanatta Creagh (Dee Why, NSW)
Ocean Lancaster (Newcastle, NSW)
Kash Brown (Cronulla, NSW)
Mitchell Peterson (Noosa, QLD)
Hunter Anderson (Moffat Beach, QLD)
Caden Francis (Palm Beach, QLD)

King Cairns (South Australia)
Will Martin (Diggers Beach, QLD)
Maverick Wilson (Mandurah, WA)

The event will kick off at 10am on Monday 15th March. Live scores can be followed via

National final DIVISIONS
16 and Under – Girls & Boys
14 and Under – Girls & Boys
12 and Under – Girls & Boys

Women’s WSL athletes that were GromSearch finalists include;
Tyler Wright, Steph Gilmore, Sally Fitgibbons, Malia Manuel, Nikki Van Dijk, Tatiana Weston-Webb, Bronte McCaulay, Caroline Marks, Macy Callaghan, Brisa Hennessy, Isabella Nichols & Bethany Hamilton. (The last 13 WSL women’s World Titles have been won by former GromSearch finalists).

Men’s WSL athletes that were GromSearch finalists include;
Gabriel Medina, Owen Wright, Italo Ferreira, Jordy Smith, Kolohe Andino, Filipe Toledo, Kanoa Igarashi, Wade Carmichael, Ryan Callinan, Leonardo Fioravanti, Connor O’Leary & Morgan Cibilic. (The top 6 surfers of the 2019 WSL world tour rankings were all former GromSearch finalists).

Due to Covid-19, control measures are in place to minimise the impacts of Coronavirus.

Victoria has moved to COVID Safe Summer restrictions. Though restrictions have eased, it is important that all participants, family and cohort, understand current Victorian legislative restrictions. Please refer to the Victorian Department of Health & Human Services website for information on current restrictions and protocols:

2020 Rip Curl GromSearch National Final
URBNSURF Melbourne, March 15th, 2021

For more information about URBNSURF Melbourne, visit www.urbnsurf.comand follow URBNSURF on Instagram (@urbnsurf)Facebook and LinkedIn.

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses


Other News