Locals to get their shot at the 2024 Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach

Published on 22/03/2024

Victoria’s best will get their shot at a spot in the 2024 Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach presented by Bonsoy this Saturday as the trials for the main event is held to determine the final 3 positions in the draw.

Featuring 16 Victorian Males and 16 Victorian Females, who will also compete against four female Rip Curl surfers, the event will take place onsite at Bells Beach.

Rip Curl will also be hosting four of their male team riders in a shoot out to determine the third and final wildcard for the event.

“The Rip Curl Pro Trials is a fantastic opportunity for Victorian surfers to surf at Bells and get the chance to go up against the world’s best surfers” said Surfing Victoria CEO Adam Robertson.

“It’s an amazing time of year for Victorian surfing and look forward to seeing the Victorian wildcards in the main event.”

Surfers invited to compete in the event includes WSL Challenger Series qualifier surfer Tully Wylie (Jan Juc), Qualifying Series surfers Xavier Huxtable (Jan Juc) and Harry de Roth (Phillip Island) alongside former World Tour Competitor Nikki van Dijk (Phillip Island), 2023 Victorian Open Champion Ava Holland (Mornington peninsula) and 2023 U18 State Champion Sarsha Pancic (Morninton Peninsula).

Results from the World Qualifying Series Ranking (2024), Pro Junior Ranking (2023),Victorian Open Series results (2024) and clubs competing in Hyundai Victorian Australian Boardriders Battle determined the selection of surfers in the event.

The Rip Curl Pro Trials will be held on Saturday 23rd March at Bells Beach. Heats will begin at 8.00am.

The Rip Curl Pro presented by Bonsoy waiting period begins Tuesday 26th March and concludes Friday 5th April.

Trials Live scores can be found via www.surfingvic.com/live and further information on the Rip Curl Pro can be found via www.surfingvic.com/rip-curl-pro

The Rip Curl Pro Trials is presented by Visit Victoria and supported by the World Surf League, Rip Curl and Surfing Victoria.

Trials List:
Erin Brooks (Canada)
Ellie Harrison (Barwon Heads)
Sophia Medina (Brazil)
Anon Matsuoka (Japan)
Nikki van Dijk (Phillip Island)
Bella Wilson (Jan Juc)
Sophie Fletcher (Phillip Island)
Ava Holland (Mornington Peninsula)
Bel Gee (Ocean Grove)
Sarsha Pancic (Mornington Peninsula)
Sara Hickson (Mornington Peninsula)
Emily McGettigan (Torquay)
Sophie Wilkinson (Mornington Peninsula)
Sarah Seuren (Inverloch)
Carly Shanahan (Jan Juc)
Lillian Bassed (Sandy Point)
Lizzy Madeley (Bellbrae)
Lucy Naylor (Pt Lonsdale)
Roser Pie (Melbourne)
Belle Day (Aireys Inlet)

Tully Wylie (Jan Juc)
Xavier Huxtable (Jan Juc)
Harry de Roth (Phillip Island)
Lucas Hickson (Mornington Peninsula)
Willis Droomer (Jan Juc)
Isaiah Norling (Barwon Heads)
Stephen Noble (Cape Paterson)
Joe Murray (Torquay)
Jerry Kelly (Barwon Heads)
Joel Kerr (Anglesea)
Todd Rosewall (Jan Juc)
Jake Pancic (Mornington Peninsula)
Cooper Downes (Jan Juc)
Rye Cicero (Sandy Point)
Taane Mitchell (Pt Lonsdale)
Mark Miccoli (Patterson Lakes)

Rip Curl Mens:
George Pittar (Manly)
Alister Reginato (Maroochydore)
Mikey McDonagh (Lennox Head)
Dylan Moffat (North Narrabeen)

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses


Other News

Surf Her Way Photographer – Zoe Strapp

Surf Her Way Photographer – Zoe Strapp

Welcome to our Surf Her Way Photographer for April - Zoe Strapp. Now based on the Surf Coast of Victoria, she is has fuelled her passion for the ocean and surf photography by transversing across our beautiful country's...

read more