India Robinson qualifies for the 2022 World Surf League Championship Tour
Published on 07/12/2021

Victorian surfer India Robinson has qualified for the 2022 World Surf League Championship tour today at the Michelob ULTRA Pure Gold Haleiwa Challenge in Hawaii.

Australia’s Robinson came into this event with plenty of hype behind her and the 21-year-old lived up to it. A dominant showcase of her forehand attack led her to a massive Quarterfinal victory before yet another win in the Semifinals, ultimately leading to the elimination of fellow Australian threat Molly Picklum. But, despite a fourth-place finish, Robinson had the work done and will be among the world’s best in 2022. 

“I can’t believe I made the Final after such a big week and it’s a dream come true,” said Robinson. “I’ve worked so hard for this and it has paid off. I’m still in shock, but wow, I can’t wait for next year.”

Bettylou Sakura Johnson (HAW) took out the final stop of the 2021 Challenger Series, following a dramatic Final to close the event over Gabriela Bryan (HAW), Carissa Moore (HAW), and Robinson (AUS). Sakura Johnson overcame inconsistent, three-to-four foot swell and provided moments of brilliance  to secure her first major WSL victory and secure her qualification on the 2022 Championship Tour. 
“This is such a huge moment in my life,” said Sakura Johnson. “Just a big thanks to everyone being here, rain or sunshine, and I’m just going to have a big smile. Thank you to everyone in Haleiwa, helping me and supporting me, and I’m really happy to represent Haleiwa and do it here. I’m truly in shock.”

For more information, please visit
Women’s Michelob ULTRA Pure Gold Haleiwa Challenger Final Results:
1 – Bettylou Sakura Johnson (HAW) 13.17   10,000 points
2 – Gabriel Bryan (HAW) 11.50                       8,000 points 
3 – Carissa Moore (HAW) 9.76                        6,500 points 
4 – India Robinson (AUS) 2.00                        6,100 points

Women’s Challenger Series Rankings:
1. Gabriela Bryan (HAW)
2. Brisa Hennessy (CRI)
3. Bettylou Sakura Johnson (HAW)
4. Caitlin Simmers (USA)
5. India Robinson (AUS)
6. Carissa Moore (HAW)
7. Luana Silva (HAW)

All photos (c) World Surf League

You may also like….

Surf Her Way Ambassador – Sophie Fletcher

Surf Her Way Ambassador – Sophie Fletcher

Welcome to our Surf Her Way ambassador for June – Sophie Fletcher. This month we are really excited to introduce Soph as part of our Surf Her Way Family. Soph has packed a lot into her 22 years of life. From representing Victoria in a number of Junior Aussie titles to being a WSL QS surfer since 2017.

read more

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses