Final round of Victorian Open Series to highlight huge weekend of surfing ahead on Phillip Island

Published on 24/02/2023

Surfing is set to take over Phillip Island this weekend with the final round of the Victorian Open Series set to decide who will be crowned State Champion for 2023.

The event will also be complimented by Phillip Island Boardriders Club 60 year celebrations on Saturday night, followed by the Victorian Teams Titles on Sunday, making for a huge weekend at one of Victoria’s premier surfing locations.

The race for State Title honours is wide open in both the Men’s and Women’s divisions with up to 7 women and 3 Men still in the running for the title.

Eva Bassed (Sandy Point) and Ava Holland (Dromana) are leading the charge in the Women’s division with both surfers holding a first place position in their score line.

Both surfers are in red hot form, with Bassed placing second and Holland placing first in their respective divisions at the Woolworths Junior Surfing Titles Bells Beach last weekend.

On the Men’s side of the draw, it is current Under 16 ISA World Champion Willis Droomer (Bells Beach) in poll position, however Droomer has been awarded a wildcard into the Lake Mac City Pro Junior in NSW and will be absent from this weekends event.

This leaves the Mornington Peninsula pair of Lucas Hickson (Rye) needing a win and Pedro Lani (Bittern) needing a second place or better to claim the title.

The Victorian Teams Titles, to be held on Sunday, will bring together Boardriders clubs from across the state in an annual tradition going back to 1977.

Local club and reigning champions Phillip Island will be looking to make the most of their home beach advantage and build upon their 8 Victorian Teams Title trophies.

Other teams set to compete over the weekend include the dominant forces of Torquay Boardriders Club and Peninsula Surfriders Club, along with Point Lonsdale, Otway and 13th Beach.

First call on Saturday for the Victorian Open Series is at 7.45am for an 8.00am start.

Sunday will kick off at 8.30am with a team manager meeting before heats begin at 9.00am.  

Full schedule and scores can be found online at

More information on the Phillip Island 60 year celebrations can be found here

The Victorian Open Series and Victorian Teams Titles is supported by QUIT Victoria, VicRoads Community Safety Grants, Cancer Council Sunscreen and Surfing Victoria.

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses


Other News