Australia’s Greatest Athletes Will Charge into Port Macquarie This August for the 2023 Australian Surf Championships

Published on 17/05/2023

MAROUBRA BEACH, SYDNEY (17th May): The highly anticipated Australian Surf Championships (ASC) will see hundreds of competitors from around the country descend to the greater Port Macquarie region for the 17-day event this August 4th – 21st, to represent their state and chosen board disciplines.

As the east coast of Australia continues to relish in world-class swell conditions, the 2023 Australian Surf Championships is set to see stacked heats and incredible surfing throughout the course of the event.

Surfing Australia CEO, Chris Mater said: “We look forward to seeing some of Australia’s best surfers return to Port Macquarie to battle it out in the hope of being crowned a national champion. This event is one of the biggest and most prestigious on the Surfing Australia calendar with the Australian Shortboard Titles the highest-rated event (Tier 8) on the National Open Rankings valued at 10,000 points for first place across Open Men and Open Women. So, there’s a lot on the line and no doubt competition will be fierce.”

Surfing NSW CEO Luke Madden shared Mater’s sentiment, “We are stoked to see the return of the 2023 Australian Surf Championships to the Port Macquarie region. The region offers incredible surf breaks from Town Beach to North Haven so our competitors will not be short of options. Every year the level and quality of surfing exceed everyone’s expectations, couple this with the hospitality of the local Port Macquarie community, we are looking forward to this monumental event in such a beautiful pocket of the NSW coastline.”

This event invites many of the country’s most talented athletes in their respective board disciplines and divisions to compete. Last year’s event saw 2023 WSL Margaret River Pro Wildcard Reef Heazlewood (QLD) and WSL Qualifying Series contender Freya Prumm (NSW) take out the Open Shortboard divisions. As well as 2023 Longboard Championship Tour competitor Declan Wyton (NSW) who won the Men’s Open Longboard Title, followed by Ebony Schell’s (WA) dominating victory in the Open Women’s Bodyboard.

Entry to the Australian Titles is by state qualification or invitation. Qualified competitors of the below board divisions will represent their state as surfing enthusiasts and competitor friends and family eagerly watch to find out who will be crowned an Australian Titles Champion.

Australian Surf Championships – Port Macquarie, NSW 4th – 21st August

· Opening Ceremony: 4 August
· Australian Longboard Titles: 5 – 12 August
· Australian Para Surfing Titles: 13 August
· Australian Bodyboard Titles: 14 – 16 August
· Australian Shortboard Titles: 17 – 21 August

Event information and live updates on all board disciplines will be shared here:

The Australian Surf Championships is proudly supported by the NSW Government through its tourism and major events agency, Destination NSW and Port Macquarie Hastings Council.

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses


Other News