Victorians to compete for wildcard into the 2023 Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach

Published on 30/03/2023

The top Victorian surfers from across the state will take to Bells Beach on Wadawurrung country this Saturday to compete for the final Wildcard position into the main round of the Rip Curl Pro Bells Beach.

The event will feature 16 of the top Victorian Male surfers and the top 16 Victorian Female surfers who will also compete against four Rip Curl wildcards to attain the exclusive spot in the main event.

“The Rip Curl Pro Trials is one of the biggest events on our calendar and one that all Victorian surfers look to each year” said Surfing Victoria CEO Adam Robertson.

“It’s a special time of year for Victorian surfing and im looking forward to seeing who claims the final places in the event!”

Surfers invited to compete in the event includes WSL Qualifying Series surfer Xavier Huxtable (Jan Juc), Tully Wylie (Jan Juc), current U18 State Champion Will Watson (Mornington Peninsula), 2022 U/16 ISA World Champion Willis Droomer (Jan Juc), alongside former World Tour Competitor Nikki van Dijk (Phillip Island) and India Robinson (Jan Juc), 2023 Victorian Open Champion Sophie Fletcher (Phillip Island) and 2022 U18 State Champion Emily McGettigan (Torquay).

Results from the World Qualifying Series Ranking (2023), Pro Junior Ranking (2022),Victorian Open Series results (2023) and clubs competing in Hyundai Victorian Australian Boardriders Battle determined the selection of surfers in the event.

The Rip Curl Pro Trials will be held on Saturday 1st April at Bells Beach on the Surf Coast. Heats will begin at 7.30am.

The Rip Curl Pro waiting period begins Tuesday 4th April and concludes Friday 14th April.

Trials Live scores can be found via and further information on the Rip Curl Pro can be found via

The Rip Curl Pro Trials is presented by Visit Victoria and supported by the World Surf League, Rip Curl and Surfing Victoria.

Trials List:

Alyssa Spencer (California, Rip Curl allocation)
Erin Brooks (Hawaii, Rip Curl allocation)
Kobie Enright (Gold Coast, Rip Curl allocation)
Ellie Harrison (Barwon Heads, Rip Curl allocation)
Nikki van Dijk (Phillip Island)
India Robinson (Jan Juc)
Bella Wilson (Jan Juc)
Anglea Ball (Jan Juc)
Sophie Fletcher (Phillip Island)
Ava Holland (Mornington Peninsula)
Eva Bassed (Sandy Point)
Lucy Naylor (Pt Lonsdale)
Emily McGettigan (Torquay)
Sophie Wilkinson (Mornington Peninsula)
Sara Hickson (Mornington Peninsula)
Sarsha Pancic (Mornington Peninsula)
Belle Day (Aireys Inlet)
Lizzy Madeley (Bellbrae)
Lilly Bassed (Sandy Point)
Roser Pie (Melbourne)

Xavier Huxtable (Jan Juc)
Tully Wylie (Jan Juc)
Bohdie Williams (Pt Lonsdale)
Spencer Kay (Jan Juc)
Willis Droomer (Jan Juc)
Lucas Hickson (Mornington Peninsula)
Joel Kerr (Anglesea)
Jack Bassett (Barwon Heads)
Lachy McDonald (Mornington Peninsula)
Harry Mann (Torquay)
Joe van Dijk (Phillip Island)
Willem Watson (Mornington Peninsula)
Taane Mitchell (Pt Lonsdale)
Derek Bassed (Sandy Point)
Brendon Davis (Melbourne)
Anthony Hume (Torquay)

My Profile

Login to your profile or Sign up to our new Surfing Portal


Head to your Surfing Portal to purchase or renew memberships

Events & Courses

Head to your Surfing Portal to enter events and courses


Other News